Dr. Vecchione (oral surgeon)

I am looking for opinions on Dr. Vecchione. I was referred to him for TMJ symptoms from my dentist. His bedside manner was a little strange and I was prescribed a bunch of pills I don't feel I should be taking (no, I am not a doctor, but I am not in overwhelming pain at all, and taking a high dosage of muscle relaxers makes me uncomfortable). Just a little cautious and looking for opinions from other folks who have worked with him before. I looked and found some older threads with mixed reviews - looking for something more current.
Thank you so much.

If you feel you don't need the pills, don't take them just because a doctor told you too!
Took my daughter to him a few years back to have her wisdom teeth out and his bedside manner is terrible. He came into the room to see her and I said "the dentist is here to see you" and he said to me "ORAL SURGEON"! Ah, excuse me .
Gave her pain meds and said any problems, call and let me know. OK great! She had a problem later that day, 7pm (ish) and I called him and he sounded SO annoyed that I was bothering him. I won 't use him again, but that's just my opinion. Others may have liked him.

botheredbyuu2 botheredbyuu2
Mar '15

Unfortunately tmj, when severe will require cutting of the bone and wiring the mouth shut to allow more space for the tmj discs to "float"....sorry to be a downer, but it is a tough issue to correct without this surgery.

DaveDigsDucats DaveDigsDucats
Mar '15

We've used him and loved him. Never felt anything was pushed on us and didn't find his bedside manner a turn off whatsoever.

Bessie Bessie
Mar '15

For you own comfort, you may want to seek out a second opinion from another oral surgeon.

I used him for my wisdom teeth extraction a few years back and didn't have any issues with him, but also didn't need any follow up other than a routine appt (which lasted about 5 minutes)

Dr vecchione is a good dr so is dr Judy tucker

Cowgirl1 Cowgirl1
Mar '15