Piles of Dead Fish in Tanks at Wal-Mart

Today we were walking past the fish tanks at Wal-Mart when we discovered piles of dead fish surrounding the filters, floating on top and on the bottoms of the tanks. It was clear that these fish had been there for some time as they were in piles, which leads me to believe that the tanks are being somewhat neglected and the dead are not being scooped twice a day. I told the manager, he did not seem to really care much so I contacted customer service and opened a ticket. I also told them I have photos. Does anyone know who I should contact to make sure this issue is followed up on? There must be a state inspector or someone who regulates live animal sales, I just don't trust that store to do anything more than scoop out the deads. I am no expert on filtration, but it appears that the system may be too strong? I just want to make sure the problem is investigated and corrected, but when I read through the local government agencies, none stick out as the correct one. Does anyone know? Thanks!

Weebiekins Weebiekins
Feb '15

I was at the Walmart in Mansfield today and saw the same thing. I don't think that they feed them but just let them eat the dead others . It's good that you said something.

janster janster
Feb '15

http://njspca.org/

gadfly gadfly
Feb '15

There was a thread on this a few years ago. I'm sad to hear that the problem hasn't been addressed.

www.hackettstownlife.com/forum/332177

Calico696 Calico696
Feb '15

Wow... I can't believe that! 4 years and it's still happening. Horrendous. Thank you, I will VZW contacting the SPCA and any other agency who may be appropriate. Some agency has to do something. If this is going on in our Wal-Mart it must be happening at hundreds of others.

Weebiekins Weebiekins
Feb '15

I would think the Board Of Health should be notified.

Walker Walker
Feb '15